Fishing hut on the Tay.

A different day from what I expected. The morning was overcast and I intended to lie around reading as usual.  I’m re-reading Maurice Walsh an Irishman who began writing just after the Irish Civil War in the romantic nationalist style popular at the time. His books were best sellers  and translated into many languages but went out of fashion in the 1950’s.  His short story “The Quiet Man” is still known because of the film.  I found his books as a teenager just at the right age to enjoy the action and romance.  Over the years I’ve collected and re-read them now mainly, as Seamus Heaney says for “an atmosphere, a sense of bogs and woods.”  They bring memories of my hill walking days back to life.
That was the morning. In the afternoon the sun came out and I went off in the car with my camera to a bit of Fife I haven’t visited for a while.  I didn’t get lost but kept getting onto the wrong road and eventually came off a roundabout at the wrong junction and found myself on the Tay road bridge heading for Dundee.  Strangely I was quite pleased. I’ve been doddering around Fife since the pandemic and need to get further afield again.  Ignored photo opportunities and drove along to Perth heading for home.  However I nipped along to Newburgh and photographed on the coast road above the Tay so it was a good day all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.