Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Nitespot

Had an hour to fill while Billy had a clip and took advantage of it to snap this wonderful sign on the side of the Theatre Royal in Lithgow.

I've been meaning to do it for years and I think it might be gone soon, as there seems to be some construction at the side.
The theatre dates from about 1920 and has been variously a live theatre, film theatre and, as you can see, a nitespot.

Sadly, I've not experienced a good time at the Nitespot, but I did take my son and his friend there in 1983 to see ET and I remember there was a crying room.

A bit of research tells me it was sold in October last year.
I suspect it went for a song, but of course, it will cost a fortune to make it fit for whatever purpose the new owner has in mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.