Hartley

When I drove to Lithgow yesterday I noticed a beautiful row of prunus, at peak blossom and framing the old stone courthouse.
I went back today with an image in mind, but soon realised that the only way I could get what I wanted would have been to position myself in the middle of the Great Western Highway.

Hartley is a small town just west of the Blue Mountains. The whole town is listed, as most of the buildings are early 19thc and have been well maintained.
In the 1830s it was envisaged that Hartley would be an important township but it was bypassed by the railway and rapidly declined in importance.
What remains today is a remarkable remnant of a town largely unchanged.

In the main blip you can see one of the many granite outcrops and to the side, the 1837 court house.
One of the extras shows the front of the court house and the other extra is St Bernards Church and Presbytery.

Right on cue, spring has sprung, so I'll tag this for FF.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.