Selly Manor Museum.

After my 7.45 am appointment with a very pleasant young Physiotherapist at the Cottage Hospital, we had a coffee and I had a croissant, having had a very early start today, at at local coffee place..
I was really pleased to be informed by her, as she took my history, and then asked me to do various movements, that I was in really good condition!
She has given me a booklet with a few pages at the end which show these (and other) exercises which I can do each day to maintain the lack of stiffness, (due to ageing of course) and strengthen my back.
Doing these with the Pilates she said will help.
All this was followed by taking the Cross City train to Bourneville, which is the stop for the Cadbury’s Chocolate factory complex. Quite a few children with parents and grandparents got off at the same time to go to Cadbury World.
We walked past the huge factory buildings to go and meet up with a couple of friends in Bourneville Garden Village, built by the Cadbury family.
We had a lovely couple of hours with them until it was time to get the train again.
On our way back to the station we passed Selly Manor Museum, which is surrounded by a large hedge. I just went into the garden to take the photo of the house itself, which I’ve since discovered has a very interesting history.
Here is a link to the guide book if you are interested.

https://sellymanormuseum.org.uk/file/selly/selly-manor-guide-book-2017-42722.pdf
It dates from Medieval Times and it’s intriguing past included an Italian wine merchant, a burglar and the world famous chocolate maker himself. There were children in the garden with parents doing a kind of “treasure hunt” finding out hidden clues. A mock set of stocks were set up and they were having great fun throwing sponges at the others who were “trapped”.
It is certainly worth a visit, which I have noted.
By that time I was beginning to feel rather tired having been up very early this morning, so we went onward to the station.
It’s teatime now and an early night will be taken!
Lovely to have warm sunshine again this afternoon.
First day of Meteorological Autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.