Faroes.3

Needing to give my legs a rest before Saturday's race, I had a quiet day, and the weather played its part. It's clearly not bad in Faroes terms - as the landlady informed me - and it's true that I've still not experienced gale force winds and driving rain. I took a coach to Klaksvík (see extra), the country's second town (pop 5,000). Although there were some intensely dark clouds, they weren't too low, and the odd break between them allowed some sunshine through at times.

In Klaksvík, I found the country's major brewery, and chatted with the person in the shop, but there was nothing to taste. The brewery hosts the country's distillery - consisting of a single still and annual output of 1200 litres of gin and whisky. However, typical of the Faroe Islands, they are in the process of expanding capacity to 6000 litres. After a tasty lunch at the Information Centre's café, I walked up above the town until I reached a large building site, and realised that there was no point in going further. Even if I'd not been resting, the highest point of the land above me was in the cloud.

Back down, I admired the town's football ground that has small stands on all four sides as part of a huge sports complex. The weather was deteriorating by then, so I took the coach back to Torshávn, where I registered for the race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.