Restaurant, Main Building

This doesn't look like your typical school cafeteria, does it?  I thought so.  It's the main dining area in the main building.  I had to be in the main building because I had to look for the 'classroom' where I'll be conducting my first class on Tuesday afternoon -- the auditorium in the main building, which seats about 300 studes.  My four classes will have the introductory lecture all at the same time.  Thing is, I will need somebody to show me how the smart board and screen work when attached to my laptop.

Thing is, my introductory PowerPoint isn't done yet because Gina and I only finished discussing the syllabus today.  Of course I will teach my way and she her way, but we need to make sure we are in sync.  Gina was supposed to meet me at 13.00, but her daughter wasn't feeling well at school, so she had to pick her up and drive her back home, but I texted her that I had to leave at 14.30, which was not because I had another appointment but because I wanted to drive to Leerdam to study the route and to know what the building looked like so that I do not get lost very early tomorrow morning.  Of course I didn't tell Gina that.  She phoned me and we discussed the syllabus over the phone.  I had already mailed her my ideas the other evening, so we just went over those and made more adjustments today.

So mid-afternoon, I drove to Leerdam.  The local windmill is on the way to the school and I will shoot that another time.  It looked quite shabby, though.  What bothered me somewhat was the traffic on the A27 going there.  I know what the A27 is like on busy days, so I will need to leave the house horribly early to avoid it.  There are two problematic junctions and they are no fun to get stuck in.  The school itself is easy to locate.  I made sure to note where the entrance is.  After less than 10 minutes, back in the car, then back on the road, and back home.

Kitchen duties... MOOCking... gaming... and tried to access my schedule again but there's now a snag as I am not a regular employee (yet) so I mailed ICT to help sort it out tomorrow.  And a mental note to return to work tomorrow afternoon, after my work in Leerdam in the morning, to see if I can get a technician to show me the ropes in the auditorium.  So many hanging issues.

The more serious hanging issue will be dealt with in the dead of night tonight.  After posting this, I will try to sleep a couple of hours.  If this does not work, I'll just have to nap close to the school in Leerdam in the early morning before work starts.

I like all the eating places at my new place of work.  Most likely I will try them all.  :D)))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.