Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Books and Art

Today after a walk, Fi and I needed  to buy some books at University Bookstore ..always fun…and there are so many good YA books now… we were planning on the cafe there but it was closed!  .then we stopped  at the nearby Henry art gallery where I haven’t been in years !  I think there were maybe 3 other people there and it was free Thursday.    So much contemporary art is so dark and gloomy or totally incomprehensible to me, but I thought this show of Donna Huanca Here might be fun….it was dazzlingly bright and white and shiny  with huge gorgeous painted murals around a stage and odd sculptures and a steel mirrored screen in between affording great views of parts of all three. ( extra)    You can look at the link if you are interested , I’m not sure of the themes…but it sticks in my head.  Nothing else there did.    We then wanted to sit in their outdoor cafe but alas, it was also closed!,  so we came home for food and quiet time,.  

 Then Fi and I played with her playmobile people …she brought one family over with their camper van.   Mom Poppy ( who is a doctor) and her pregnant wife, Riley,  their 2 adopted daughters Kia and Olivia and their cat chicken nugget.   It’s going to be very crowded in that van.  We played with some apps and have put one in the 2nd extra.    She still makes up complex stories for her families.  

The other high point of the day…. A letter from the Seattle municipal court saying my request to be excused from jury duty has been granted but I “ may receive a summons for a future date”!!!   I’ll only be older and have more reasons .   Wish Washington would get with the program and let 80 year old be excused.

Maple slept all night last night…. Fingers crossed for tonight… planning more time with Bean tomorrow….

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.