St Paul's Pause

I started the day in the heart of money-land, The City of London. Drawing and waving my hands in the air over coffee in about the nicest cafe I've ever been in (Bishopsgate Kitchen) was a fine start for more of the same. I rode through Hyde Park, by Buckingham Palace and along the Mall and Strand, Fleet Street and Threadneedle Street - iconic. Of course, on the bike these are hell-for-leather pedals and weaving through traffic. As usual, I arrived happy and a "glowing" ;)

Big Bird. (Sorry, that was a "Wren" dad-joke).


In some big office buildings, they really frown on bringing your foldy bike in so I have a cover which makes it look like a (really) big suitcase. And yet in this most showy and money-dripping building, I sat my bike alongside 2 other Bromptons already there and not in cases. And so, I immediately liked this place despite its grandeur. The expensive switches and firewalls sat on and under people's desks (not operational you understand!) cheered me up too. And then we swapped photographs of the worst spagetti-factory-explosion network wiring panels we've ever seen... Wow. It works. Don't touch!

Then across the river over London Bridge and south to Vauxhall for more chat and hand-waving... and north again for the 6pm train home. A beautiful sunset just after York to top things off.

I've had a great time again, my only regret is not being in Edinburgh to go to the Filmhouse with Marchmont. So, hopefully we'll do that soon - maybe it's easier to meet up in London!

Oh, and this is a stitch of 3 photos in Hugin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.