The Vital Spark

Day two has us completed at this visit to Furnace.

One of the biggest hassles when working away for a night or two is the amount of "gubbins" I need to take in out of the car at night to the hotel room. My laptop, certain items of more precious survey kit, multiple batteries and associated chargers, my laptop, flask for the next day, any out door gear that has got soaked during the day and my normal overnight bag. It takes may be three or four trips to get it all in and invariably I am located on floor three at the end of a winding corridor of sprung loaded fire doors.
It is actually for this reason that I favour a slightly impersonal hotel to a bed and breakfast where you are very aware of being in someone else's home. Also from a cash flow point of view, bigger establishments accept credit card payments.

The process all needs to be reversed in the morning and I am usually up thirty minutes earlier than I need to simply to start decanting gear from the room back to the car. I emerged from the back door of the building with the first load in to a beautiful Argyll morning. I put the first couple of boxes in the car but instead of returning to the building took a quick walk down to the harbour at the end of the road.

A couple of rusty old boats seem to be permanently lashed to the pier. One has a very famous name on its bow; the "Vital Spark". A boat of this name was the setting for a TV comedy drama in the sixties (I am told). I don't know if this is the actual vessel or not as I recall a mate of mine pointing out the "real" Vital Spark to me in Bowling Basin at the Clyde end of the Forth and Clyde Canal many years ago. Perhaps someone out there knows the truth.

I also got a lucky snap of a couple of pigeons a few minutes later and I was hard pushed to make the choice. I will try this on the blipfolio if it lets me.

One more thing; the afore mentioned laptop is very close to the end of its life I fear and I appear to have unwittingly made duplicate comments on other folk's blips last night. I do apologise.

Pigeons (Uploaded eventually)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.