Worry is a Pointless Exercise

Whatever possessed me to book an early morning flight to Orkney? I obviously hadn’t thought out the details of the performance in getting to the airport and checking in before the first sparrow’s chirrup. I am paranoid about missing the alarm and finding the taxi at the door before I’m up and dressed. Since most nights I am a terrible sleeper and awake for swathes of time, it really is not a problem I should ever consider, but I am able to worry about even the most unlikely things, especially going solo.

Anyway the likelihood is I shall be ready in time for the off and then the only worry will be the likelihood of an off on time from Loganair and after that the worry of my wee case making it to Orkney instead of some other place, given that it will be trundling along the luggage belt in the company of much larger cases going to exotic hot spots. You see, I am A* worrier. 

The flowers have been watered, the electricity and gas meter readings sent to the energy supplier, the buckets emptied, the fridge emptied, the bed changed and no dirty washing to come home to. I just have to try and shut my case now.


The last time I came from Orkney it was in a wheel chair, so I’m watching my step on any stairs and hoping I don’t fall …….or drown!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.