Doorstep flowers

There were times during a sleepless night as I worried obsessively about the journey by air to Orkney this morning and not making a fool of myself with  trifles like enduring a lengthy security queue and finding the right gate (I should have known Loganair  would  operate at the end of a mile long corridor) or of somehow missing the 4:30am alarm, when I wondered why I put myself through the ordeal. Now that I have arrived safely all my worries proved groundless as my rational mind knew they would and I am back in my happy place.

It was unfortunate that the cloud cover over Scotland meant I saw nothing from the plane until  we broke through the clouds just over Stromness and the town was there resplendent in the sunshine right where I left it in May. The Cheeky Monkey taxi service had a car in attendance at the airport in Kirkwall even though the driver was caught napping in the café. Roused from his reveries I was expertly chauffeured  to my ‘wee hoose’ in Stromness. As usual it was like coming home after a lengthy holiday. 

I dumped my baggage and decided to bus back to Kirkwall to get some shopping at Lidl and a scrumptious scone at Lolz café. I arranged with Lolz to try and swim tomorrow at high tide in the afternoon. It is  windy here today with a very boisterous sea and it may be the same tomorrow, perhaps with rain added so best have two us in the water together.

With everything unpacked and suffering  now from last night’s sleep deprivation, I am happy to sit and look out at the sea. An early night beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.