New Skills

Well, I had two ambitions when I was a child and that was to learn to fire a gun (lost that ambition years ago) and the other was to do 'wood work'. I had and indeed still do get excited at the thought of screwing things up using a screwdriver to construct things!!  Somehow no one ever taught me how to cut the wood to construct anything.. so I have devised a  scheme for me to make something.  We use a recycling box for our parcels to be delivered into which does the job but it looks pretty ugly.  There is spare tongue and groove left over from my daughters van interiors .. so.. yep... I am going to use up the scraps to make a tidy box for the front door for our parcels.  My youngest daughter is the most marvellous teacher and has the patience of a saint as I get to grips with 'power' tools ... bless her.   I have started.. 4 legs and all the side bars which on we also used a jig to make pocket holes to screw them to the uprights.  All very exciting for me.. basic carpentry.. go me!!  I managed to cut four legs all the same length all by myself today and I am feeling buoyed by my new skill!  Watch this space for progress reports!  Warning they may not happen soon as all the clamps and the workbench and the saw leaves tomorrow not to return till October..ho hum.
Both girls home this evening and a little cat coming too.. enjoy your weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.