The Last Night of the Church Organ

A beautiful organ concert at the United Free church this evening just four doors along from my house. The church has recently closed due to poor attendances and the organ* is being sold. It will soon be dismantled and removed from the church.

David Bird, who is a professional organist, delighted us with a varied programme with works ranging from the 17th century through to the late 20th. I can hear the organ being played when I sit in my garden and I shall miss the swirling sounds. Although David reassured  me he will be continuing to play it until it is finally taken away.

So, the end of the summer and a local version of the last night of the proms.

* If you are interested it is a 1993 Peter Collins organ. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.