Leycesteria formosa

An early trip to Torquay to fetch Monty, Nicky's poodle, he's staying with me for the weekend while they nip up to Scotland for a wedding. Walked Monty around Conqueror woods. Dropped off frozen gooseberries to Carolyn, stopped for quick coffee & chat, then back to base.
Monty & I walked up to the plot, did some watering, feeding & a bit of weeding. Pulled beetroot, picked French beans for home, & a punnet of tomatoes for Chris's wife Sue.
Back to base for lunch, then a couple of hours tidying up the garden ready for the rain that's forecast. I made a mental note of the plants that have performed well in our recent heatwave. The Leycesteria being one of them.
I dug out a patch of mombretia, I like the plant, it's just so invasive. The erodium, eryngium, persicaria, & hosta have faired pretty well too, with little slug damage. Now we need the skies to open and refresh everything. The planting along the outside of the property are looking okay, considering I've not given them much water since planting.
Time to give Monty his last walk before bedtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.