Spent the morning chillin'

An early visit to the plot to feed the Robin. Word's got around so the dunnocks, sparrows & a blackbird normally arrive shortly after. Discussed the Avian flu problem with Julie, who keeps 6 hens on a section of her plot, in a securely enclosed run, but should DEFRA decide that poultry must be contained inside, could be a problem for her. Paignton zoo is in lockdown due to a bird dying... What a nightmare! Then, not 2 miles away on the Clifford Estate they've released goodness knows how many young pheasant for this year's shooting season.
I picked tomatoes, courgettes, & French beans before walking up to fetch the paper. .
Spent the morning with Jan, first visiting a local hidden away cafe that I'd not heard of, the sun, absent during our visit so a tad fresh. Next a visit to Hill House Nursery, a fabulous nursery in the middle of nowhere. A wonderful range of plants for sale, very reasonably priced too. They have some fabulous mature plants scrambling around in some of the polytunnels, many of them tender, but very happy here with some protection. They also have a very well stocked selection of homemade cakes 8n their tiny cafe, I had a slice of pear & raspberry frangipane with my coffee, which was delicious.
Back home to Mr Grumpy. I spent the afternoon outside in the garden. Yesterday I emptied the greenhouse, gave it a good tidy up & scrub with Jeyes fluid, today I emptied the water feature, cleaned the interior thoroughly, adding a marsh marigold, when I refilled. Jan told me rain was forecast but we did'nt get any. Could be Sat/Sun
Made toad in the hole for dinner. Potatoes, French beans, carrots, & onions from the plot. Not only is it *my happy place*, it also rewards me with produce. It's a win, win. .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.