It's harvest time

The farmers & contractors are working flat out harvesting crops, bringing them in, picking up bales of hay & straw etc.before the weather changes, it's felt quite autumnal the last couple of days, a chilly wind while walking this morning. These tractor tracks lead into a field of mown hay on the perimeter of Knighton heath. It smells fresh. Love it!
First a plot visit for watering, feeding & harvesting of my own. I picked runner, & French beans, drove up to town, fetched the paper, plus a few bits for Mum, home again, made up a box of veggies for Mandy who supplied me with horse manure earlier in the year, dropped it outside her front door before down to CK to walk Indie. I checked out the blackberry crop on my lap of the heath, not much action, the herd of cattle were lying down on the old football pitch, a sign of rain or just an old wive's tale?? We walked out through the back of the heath towards Little Bovey, as I thought these tyre tracks might make a suitable subject for today's challenge Leading Lines. I took a few more pics that might be good, but this one seemed most apt with the crop in the background.
Back at Mum's for a coffee, cake & natter, followed by a back garden tidy up with the secateurs. Bindweed is a nightmare especially wound around fragile clematis stems. Job done, time to head home.
Top of today's task list - Apply on-line for bus pass. Hubby took a head shot for me, then it was straightforward, using my driving licence for id purposes. It should arrive in the next week or so. :-D I watched another days action from Tokyo, then not sure what I did do but it was soon time to rustle up dinner. Richard gave me a huge Hispi cabbage off his plot last week so I thought I would make stuffed cabbage rolls. Blanched the whole leaves to make them pliant, made the filling, I used turkey mince as I find the beef mince texture a bit unpleasant, made up the filling, improvised on the sauce. Made the parcels, they went on the top of the stove 5 minutes before cider o'clock, & The Chase. Perfect timing!
I cut the cleaned empty plastic cream cartons that Mum's been saving for me into plant labels while watching tv, just to prove that I can still multi-task. 
Dinner was tasty, well I thought so, made 6 rolls, we ate 3, me 2, hubby 1. He was'nt that impressed to be honest with you. I packed the 3 into containers, which he promptly added my name to, so I'm guessing he does'nt want them again. "Why after all these years are you suddenly making different food?" Now, this is my dilemma. When we lived in Thailand, hubby would go away playing golf for a few days quite often so I could experiment with different dishes knowing it was only me I had to please. I loved it as I've enjoyed cooking all my life. Now we're here, & he's home all the time, my only opportunity to experiment is when I go to dog/house sit. Well, getting to grips with a combination of unfamiliar kitchens, tempermental ovens/rings/hobs/microwaves, I tend to make soups, or an omelette. Even that can create a problem. Jeanette had a oil fired Aga, but in the Summer used a portable  2 ring induction gadget. I'll make an omelet! Could not get the plate to heat, ended up Googling the brand etc. only to find I was using the incorrect frying pan. So even the best laid plans can go awry. Thank goodness for Google.! Same dilemma applies to tv's. Another challenge I'm getting too old for.

Thanks to RockArea for setting the challenges this month

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.