Find something tiny MaryElizaR said.

I found a tiny piece of pyracantha spike in my finger today .... Ouch! Did'nt really make a Blip image though. Holding my camera and taking the image with one hand tricky as well, so I settled for the  sheaths on my ornamental grass Chondropetalum tectorum, my star plant. If I had garden full of only one plant this would be it. I've thought it through. This ornamental grass moves like a kinetic sculpture, it's mesmerizing, the stems remain all year round, the seed heads are a gorgeous red brown, & the sheaths sparkle in the sun, bronze, silver, copper, angle depending on the angle, & that's exactly what caught my eye today while enjoying lunch sat in the garden. I've already split the plant into 4, planting two more in the same bed. The tiniest is sitting in a pot awaiting location. Have I sold it to you yet???? I've just dug out my copy of Garden Grasses, Rushes, & Sedges compiled by Trevor Wood, a grower I dealt with when I worked in the garden centre industry. No, I don't have shares in Chondropetalum tectorum aka Elegia tectorum, & Restio tectorum.
I met Jos for coffee & a catch up at Jack's Patch/Otter this morning. EW! I suddenly remembered I had a voucher for Jack's Patch. 2 x 50ltr multi purpose compost for £5 Bingo! We had a moan, laugh, toasted teacake & coffee, followed by a little horticultural retail therapy.
My quest today was to smuggle a box of Spode china, plus two lovely, but unused glass decanters ( wedding presents) out of the house & drop off at the Rowcroft Hospice collection centre, THEN a visit to the council recycle centre, which just happens to be next door. :-) After our catch up Jos does  search on her phone & informs me that Rowcroft are'nt taking any donations .... ARGH!!! I can't take them home. I called Mum, I'll drop them off there, I've got stuff in her loft to go as well. All together now I reckon. One step forward, 2 steps back. Morrison's supermarket next. Hubby asked me to pick up some beer for his pals. I should'nt have looked at the plants but I did .. found two sad looking reduced Campanula looking for a new home. :-)) After the prices of Jack's Patch herbaceous perennials it was refreshing to find plants at a realistic price. £9.99 for a 2ltr pot of herbaceous is ridiculous/daylight robbery. £2-3 in Morrisons is more like it. Okay it's not got loads of colour (impulse purchase) but it will do exactly the same job. Rant over!! LOL!! I bimbled along the fresh meat isle where there were many reduced items. I purchased 3 packs of oxtail at a reduced price. I love braised oxtail.
I dropped the charity shop stuff off at Mum's. She'd been trying to contact her doctors surgery to book a flu jab but did'nt understand the automated message. I think many elderly people would be confused. Mum has a laptop but she's not that savvy, certainly not to contact the surgery via their website. Mum is 88 years old. Very worrying. I'll see what I can sort out a bit later.
Home, hubby sat indoors. Nothing new there. Glorious sunshine outside .. Homemade chicken liver pate, toast, & pimento stuffed olives ideally washed down with a glass of something white & chilled ... I had a black coffee. Too early for alcohol. Can't believe I said that.... Joking!!  It was hot, it was glorious. It was then that I noticed the grass sheaths sparkling in the sunshine.

Will we ever get back to NOT wearing masks??

Right time to make dinner ..... a hearty chicken & veggie soup tonight. I might make a quick soda bread to go with it.
Ciao 4 now!
Thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting Tiny Tuesday & setting the challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.