It just started to spit with rain

as I faffed around with my produce adding a Moroccan  tagine, my pots of thyme, chives, sage, & lemongrass, a bowl of saved butternut squash ( origin Argentina) seed, not one of mine. Mine are still on the plot, maybe planted out a little late, considering the change in temperature. Hey ho!!  Can't get it right every  time. I'm very satisfied with the produce I've harvested. The book title - Grow Your Own Month by Month by Jo Whittingham.
I spent 3 hours clearing the fruit garden next my plot this morning. I bumped into Liz yesterday morning, she asked if I'd be interested in clearing the weeds, & pruning the fruit. I'll get a friend up to strim the grass but I managed to virtually clear the weed, so next job, pruning the raspberry, tayberry, & currant bushes, plus prune the plum tree. It's all been neglected, but looking better already. I harvested courgettes, tomatoes, patty pan squash, & French beans.
A lovely warm morning, a few jobs in the garden at home, dismantling the sweetpea wigwams, emptied a pot of lilies into a border, planted my Physalis alkekengi - Chinese Lantern, my lovely birthday pressie from  Jorgiesmum. I planted an ornamental grass in with the Phyllostachys aurea/Golden bamboo. I need one more plant for the  50ltr pot. I want it to have a Japanese feel, a pretty fern maybe the answer. 
Managed to contact the doctors surgery to book Mum's flu jab, now I need to book mine with another surgery in Chudleigh.
Time to prepare the mirepoix, carrots & onion from my plot, celery from Tesco's, for the oxtail. Once softened I add garlic, fresh thyme, bay leaves, lots of lovely Roma tomatoes, chopped, then wine, & stock. Added to the oxtail in the crock, foil, then lid on & into the oven for 3 hours, Low & slow is the way to go. Served with homegrown potatoes (Pentland Javelin), & French beans. Pentland Javelin have a bright white flesh when cooked, but they also break down quite quickly which I'm not so pleased about so may try another variety next year. I've still got two rows of Charlotte to lift, one of the jobs next time I'm on the plot which if it's not raining will be tomorrow morning. I  must remember to take the saw with me.

The oxtail was so tender & tasty ... .delish!

I've just had pud .. yet another slice of my plum galette, with cream obviously. Only one more slice to go.

Thanks to Freyjad for hosting Wide Wednesday & setting the challenge Book Titles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.