Stairway to the high wire

well as close to to a stairway as you will find on one of these electricity pylons, & far more interesting to snap than my staircase. It also gave me an excuse to have a lovely early morning walk on Chudleigh Knighton heath. I had a lightbulb moment as I pulled up in the gateway. I wanted to harvest some yellow rattle  seed to sow along the outside area of grass that comes with the property we rent. Yellow rattle as a semi parasitic plant lives by feeding off the nutrients of vigorous grasses. I want to create a semi wild flower area, & yellow rattle grows really well on the margins of the heat hland so I thought I would be in luck. Not so, the plant has flowered, seeded & disappeared. Well I could'nt spot it, but I did collect some other wild flower seed, plus a few blackberries, & get an image for my blip.
First a visit to my plot to water & feed the tomatoes, squash, courgettes, & French beans, next stop grab a newspaper from the village shop, Chudleigh Knighton heath, a favourite area of mine since I was a child. Lovely walks, horse riding tracks, & plenty of wildlife, if you're lucky.  Back to Mum's to prune the weeping willow, it's a grafted Salix Chrysochoma, that Mum has attacked with her hedge trimmer thereby making it's stems stand on end as opposed to weep ... I am gradually teasing it back into shape. A sneaky visit ... Sssshhhh!
Back home, hubby sat indoors, door closed, moaning that it's cold. It's a gloriously sunny day outside. I sit outside with a coffee enjoying the sunshine. "It's a beautiful day, the sun is really warm". "I'm an old person, taking blood thinners, I'm cold, my blood's not as thick as yours". Well my blood is lovely and thick, I can't sit inside, so decide to go back to Mum's and do some more gardening jobs that she finds difficult. Hubby can't understand why SHE can't do these jobs herself. I explain that she would if she could but she IS 88 years of age, & I don't want her going up a set of steps with a hedge trimmer. The sun was lovely & warm, got a few gardening jobs completed, me on the step ladder, Mum doing the jobs on terrafirma. The green (garden waste) bin is chocka. The pyracantha is a great allrounder but the spiny stems ... ouch! ouch!
I've found away to make hubby take some exercise ... find an arts/gardening/wildlife documentary on catch up. Oh, bye!! It was'nt intentional .... honest!

Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting Mono Monday & setting the challenge Stair/Stare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.