It was all going so well

& then the top came off. Such a pity, I was really looking forward to my tomato sandwich finished with a twist of freshly ground salt & black pepper. 
A gorgeous sunshiny morning, breakfast, shower, laundry in the machine, fetched the paper & provisions from the local Coop. Laundry on the line, up to the plot to lift carrots to go with tonight's dinner. Far too lovely to head home so I took out the 3 double rows of runner bean plants, saving the big plump beans for next years seed, the surplus to go in the freezer. Perfect addition to a hearty homemade soup later. I left the plant roots in the soil, the root nodules fix the nitrogen in the soil. I harvested the French marigold flowers that had formed seed. I'm not sure they did much in the way of preventing blackfly on the beans but they looked pretty. I piled up the spent plants on a piece of spare ground, once they've dried out I'll put burn them. They don't break down very well in the composter.
Back home I cut the grass, then trimmed the edge of the "lawn". Zapped a few dandelions, then it was lunch time ............... Then the above happened.
I prepped the veggies, made sage & onion stuffing, then went down to CK to fetch Mum. We came back and sat in the sun with our coffee ..
I have a recipe for an uncooked raspberry jam, well I had those raspberries from yesterday to use, so equal weight of sugar to raspberries, in two separate dishes. Pop in a preheated oven @ 170c for 20 mins. Remove from oven, whisk together to dissolve sugar then pour into sterilized jars. Seal when cool. Will last 2 months. We'll see. :- )) Dinner on, I rustled up a plum galette. I made a sweet shortcrust pastry base, sprinkled over ground almonds, topped with halved plums, sprinkled sugar over, folded the edges in and crimped. Then into the oven. A perfect pud with a generous dollop of thick double cream. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.