Kipsie

By Kipsie

Past it's use by date I reckon

Got lots done today ... first the ironing, breakfast, skinned the pickling onions while sat in the sunshine, salted them. Made stuffing for the roast chicken dinner. Prepared the runner beans and other veg for dinner tonight while making a saucepan of leek & potato soup. The peelings up to the compost bin on my plot, the soup will go with me to Teignharvey tomorrow. I'm off to look after Yogi until Thursday. . Went up to the allotment. Picked runner beans, getting near the end of the season for them, so probably only one more picking, courgettes, corn on the cob, & raspberries. I'm really pleased with the rows of parsnips, they look great so I hope they produce a good crop. Had a chat & laugh with Liz Cornish, her family have the fruit & veg shop in the town. She only grows a bit of soft fruit, some for jam the rest for on top of her porridge which was what she was planning to do with her pickings today .. "I can eat porridge, morning, noon, & night time" she informed me. She's promised me some mallow seed from her garden. She keeps bees so is very keen to supply plenty of food for them. She scatters wild flower seed around on the grass verges as she walks her dog. I plan to scatter some nasturtium, marigold, poppy & love-in-the-mist seed along the outside of our house. I've scattered a row up on the allotment.
Back home, made lunch, did the crossword. Hubby took a bag of veggies down to Mum, I went back up the allotment. Stuart a plot neighbour, a complete novice, had sown a complete packet of swede seed, far too any plants for his family, so told me to help myself. Well why not. I transplanted about 60 seedlings, gave them a good watering in. It will be interesting to see how they fare.
Home again, dinner on, give the garden a good watering.
Dinner. washing up. Looked out onto the patio and there were my led dragonfly lights looking very pretty.

Just watched the film My Old Lady, appearances by Kirsten Scott Thomas,  Kevin Kline & Maggie Smith on BBCiplayer.

Time to pack my bag.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.