Signs

... of the changing seasons.   Hyacinthoides lingulata is popping up both in pots and in the open garden, here in a sandy raised bed in full sun.   I've grown it outside for many years but in Norfolk it only survived in the most warm and sheltered spots.   The bulbs are frost hardy but the leaves were often destroyed by hard frost which led to a gradual decline.  Two winters in Wales suggest that they will do better here.  The rarity of hard frost near the coast makes all the difference with the leaves coming through the winter intact.   This is the best display I've ever had outside.   In pots under cold glass they increase well and it looks like they will do the same here in the garden.   The flowers resemble miniature hyacinths although in the warm weather they don't last as long as their cold season cousins.

A trip to Dolgellau to see a physio with in depth knowledge of hands this morning was worth the effort.   I have new exercises for my still swollen and sometimes painful finger.  It should slowly return to something more normal than it's current misshapen and limited use state but this will take time  and some effort on my part.  Worthwhile effort.

Otherwise it's been mostly a day of planning and organising for my mini-lecture tour next week .... if two talks on consecutive nights counts as a tour!   I did find time to cook tea for Jamie and I and there are four jars of bramble jelly setting in the kitchen after recent pickings.   I'll need to work harder in that department next week to replenish the cupboards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.