The Wren

By TheWren

Deep in the forest

It was such a gorgeous day that I took the dogs for a really long walk this afternoon and went deep into the thickly forested part of the walk. Despite the strong sunshine very little light pervades this area as the trees are planted so closely. There was no bird song and not even any sound as i walked along what masqueraded as a path because the pine needle carpet was delightfully thick and spongy. Here you can see a collection of pine cones, probably what is left of a squirrel's feast, alongside the soft decaying stump of the previous planting many moons ago. You can just make out a glimmer of blue light through the trees and that is all you can see of the sky in this wonderful hushed world.

I now have two very sleepy but happy dogs.

A year ago today I see I was on a cruise ship on my way to even sunnier climes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.