The Wren

By TheWren

Kissed by the rain and sun

It has simply been one of those days!

It started off well, with a very relaxing Yoga class where my mind disappeared during the meditation sections and I was happily contemplating all the things I would do during the day. Still feeling relaxed i arrived home, thankfully let the dogs out in the back garden, and then proceeded to put three paint tins in my arms to take them out to the garage - as part of my spring cleaning! I went out of the front door and presto - one of the tins of white paint fell from my hands and landed "thwack" spilling its contents all over my paved driveway. Panic! I then managed to take hold of the paint covered tin and could just make out that although it was paint for wood and metal, all brushes were to be washed. I went back into the house and first of all got a dustpan and brush to try and brush most of the glutinous mass off the driveway and into the dustpan. Then where to put the now red and white dustpan? - into the heather border! Then i went back into the house for a big container of water and splashed it over the mess - not enough! So now I dashed through the garden to the back door, let the bemused dogs into the kitchen where they could be contained, and tried as quickly as possible to get the hosepipe unravelled and round to the front of the house. I then ran back to turn the water on full - by the time I got back to the front again the hosepipe was dancing about, spouting water furiously everywhere but where I needed it, so I quickly tamed it and eventually got the majority of the white stuff diluted and safely washed across the drive and into a drain. I started to relax, however there was still paint on the tiles by the front door so I remembered the brillo pads and after some scouring all was clean again! Luckily I then remembered the dustpan still full of paint, so had to try and flush it out with the hose. Thinking I had finished I returned the hose to the back of the house, leaving it in a tangled heap for the time being, as I needed to inspect the area - to my dismay while I had cleaned the inside of the dustpan I hadn't checked the outside and had then put it down on the driveway leaving more white paint! More panic as I dashed back to get the hose again and I was in the process of unkinking it when a delivery man startled me and asked if he could leave a parcel for a neighbour - poor chap he suddenly found himself helping a damsel in great distress and holding the full hose while I tried to release the kinks! Suffice to say that the driveway is now clean and the parcel has been safely delivered to my neighbour.

Exhausted I then had to eat something after which I went to the shed to get the electric cable so I could use the mower - only to find I couldn't get into the shed as the lock was jammed!!! So I took the dogs for a long, long walk to relax myself but the naughty pair decided that this was the day they would chase the several pairs of roe deer lurking in the woods......

I have now had a glass of wine and am delighted that I took a photo of my lovely hellebore this morning after the smirr of rain last night. Oh, and I also saw my first swallow of the season - so all is now good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.