pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

There can be only one

Our last full day and night down in Essex was another good one.

We headed over to Maldon for a stroll along the prom and were treated to a round of crazy golf by my mother. It was an epic battle over a creative and fun 18 holes, but in the end there could be only one winner. Modesty prevents me from revealing the identity of the winner, but insecurity and a general all round neediness for acknowledgment and affirmation is fine with it: me, I won. I beat two small children and two people able to qualify for a senior citizen discount. Take the wins where you can find them and kudos to Nanny for coming in second place.

Riding high on the back of this one, we ventured into the neighbouring fun zone where the children could pan for gemstones and they came away with many precious stones that they were immediately looking to sell. Naturally, we were exhausted after our efforts so we had sausage rolls and ices creams on the prom at which point my parents realised that they were basically wearing identical clothing - bless ‘em.

The afternoon was spent in the company of my sister’s family and featured arguments in and expulsion from the hot tub (never was there a more middle class sentence) while I started to gather together our scattered belongings for tomorrow’s return trip home.

There was a last bit of fun as the girl’s took control of m’boy’s car and proceeded to thrash it around the baked lawn and into some small trees, which my father is intent on convincing himself and us, “aren’t quite dead yet”.

Another fun day, but I can tell the children are tiring as The Youngest is unable to stop talking and m'boy has turned a little grumpy.

Home tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.