CrocusMan

By TonyG

Emblem

Gentiana acaulis, the Trumpet Gentian, the archetypal Spring flower of the Alps. It's looking like a late Spring in the Alps this year so I may get to see a few of these high in the mountains, at the end of June.

This flower adorns my sweatshirt today, being the emblem of the Alpine Garden Society of which I am (surprise, surprise!) and active member. You can see an impressive potful of Trumpet Gentians on their homepage today.

If anyone fancies an unusual blip-meet this Saturday (4th May) I'll be at the AGS Plant Show held at Wymondham High School, Folly Road, Wymondham. I'll be there from 630am but the Show opens at mid-day. I'll be the chap on stage, driving the computer. I have pinpointed the venue on the map below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.