YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Crop

Last year this tree had no apples at all - this year the branches are bending under the weight of the apples.  Perhaps the weather has been just right, or perhaps it heard me threatening to chop it down (not because of the lack of apples, but the tree is actually rotten in the middle and I think it will soon be unsafe).  I’ve already made one batch of apple sauce, but the apples seem a bit sweeter than last time I used some, so may be okay as eaters.  Hoping they will get a bit bigger still and then I think I will be giving a lot away!  Just picked the first lot of damsons too, so first jar of damson gin will be started at the weekend.  Most of the plums seem to be right at the top of the tree so I may not get much gin made this year, but we’ll see - I’m told it is lethal stuff, but it has no effect on me, lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.