dressing up

I worked from 9 until 1 at the cafe, assisting the wonderful Christian Aid team with their Coffee Morning. It was very well attended and raised a grand total of £1005, which they were pleased with.

Afterwards, I met D at Gracefield, where we attended a talk by local artist Denise Zygadlo about the new exhibition on load from the Hayward Gallery of photographs by/of Claude Cahun. Truth be told, I had never heard of Claude Cahun  until recently, but I should have done. So many of her ideas were ahead of her time, and I loved the photographs, which were mostly self portraits.  Claude, like Denise, loved dressing up. Denise showed us some of her own drawings which had been inspired by the photographs in this exhibition.

It was only when I turned this photo into mono, I noticed all the different checks and stripes on the clothes of people in the audience :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.