Hair of the Dog

No, not more of the same, but an animal instead of a flower!

A wet and windy start to the day, which was a pain as I'd decided to do my regular litter pick, but having looked at the forecast, which said sunshine by 2pm, I occupied myself with other things during the morning. At 2pm I picked up my bag and litter picker, donned my 'Keep Oban Beautiful' hi-viz, and marched out of the door. The sun came out and has stayed out more or less so far. I take my tiny Canon camera on litter picks, although the quality isn't too good.

I got waylaid at McCaig's Tower talking to a couple from Sidmouth in Devon, who said that the litter problem was pretty bad there too. For some reason I'd thought that SW English resorts would be cleaner, but it seems not! I went on down Jacob's Ladder, where the mess around the seats and over the fence was beginning to build up again, in spite of the recent Mountain Rescue clean-up. The fence which had been badly damaged and cut was now completely missing - see extra - so if anyone lets go of their toddlers or dogs then they could end up below the distillery wall, a very long way down. I hope that the council hasn't removed it due to its dangerous condition; the last time they repaired it, earlier this year, and covered the gap with plastic safety barriers they went over the fence too! I can still see them down there.

On my way down Taylor's Brae I found my friend Archie watching the world go by behind his gate, so I thought he would make a change from flowers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.