Bringing home the Bacon

Mrs M and I drove to the library this morning, Saturday being our usual library visiting time. Not very busy - only one other person came in while we were there. I haven't done a library Blip for a while, so here it is! Mrs M drove home and I walked, needing to do a bit of shopping on the way. I stopped on Taylor's Brae for a chat with my pal Archie - see second extra - who reached through his gate to give me a lick!

The sun seems to have deserted us, apart from a brief showing after lunch. It's calm and windless however, and I enjoyed sitting outside with my lunch. 

I had to get the hose out this afternoon in spite of calls to save water. We haven't had much rain for a while but I've spent a lot on new shrubs this year and I don't like to see them wilting. Although I bought a water butt it's quite impractical to water plants on the slope with a can and I'd soon run out anyway. (I've just checked the forecast and it seems that we're promised heavy rain tomorrow afternoon! Now they tell me!)

I planted a few plants - the fern I Blipped last week and two fuchsias; 'Corallina' and 'Lady Bacon'. The soil was just like dust! 'Lady Bacon' is an amazing form of Fuchsia magellanica, a subspecies, I think, so probably not really deserving of a cultivar name. Lady Bacon, with her husband Sir Nicholas, owns Raveningham Hall in Norfolk. I've put her on as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.