First spuds

Seeing as we'd been forecast heavy rain this afternoon I visited the Walled Garden this morning to dig up some of my spuds. The foliage was looking a bit dodgy on a few plants in one row - one of the Maris varieties, but I can't remember which - and I wondered if there was a touch of blight. Not a particularly great crop - 17.5 pounds - from the row, but they'll do us for a while. The other row is the maincrop variety King Edward, so I'll leave them for a bit.

We were only there on Thursday and picked all the runner beans we could find, but I still picked another 2 pounds today, only three days later! I'm sure if I stood there long enough I could watch them grow!

Well it's now 3.15pm and so far there have been about three spots of rain, so I'm still waiting for a downpour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.