Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Frog Days of Summer

Seems as good a name as any for these days in spring that are just like summer except that they could revert to Spring, or even Winter, if the fog rolls in. It inevitably did this in Berkeley. (I believe that the "dog" days of summer aer when the same thing happens at the fall end of the summer.) We'll see what happens in Sonoma County. In the meantime, I love the "frog days". This silly fountain is in a shopping center in Corte Madera.

After almost six months, I finally got together with my friend of weekly lunches today. She still lives in Berkeley, so we decided to meet halfway at this shopping center in Marin County, about an hour's drive for each of us. I was concerned that we would find ourselves waiting for each other different places, since the chosen meeting place was a shot in the dark, neither one us of having been there for a long time. We knew it had been remodeled, and I learned this morning that the coffee shop where we had chosen to meet might not be there any more.

Although she has a cell phone, my friend insists that " it never works". Although my tendency to get lostI has improved enormously, I've come to rely on having mine with me just in case I need the GPS or to call the person I'm meeting (or OilMan...) It all worked out just as planned however, and we did some shopping, had lunch and got caught up.

She brought along a bag of hot pink yarn which someone had given to her. She decided the color was not for her so she brought it along to see if I wanted it. Knitting is not for me right now, so I declined it, but she was able to give it to a shopper in Nordstrom's who admired it. Where there's a will, there's a way....

It's nice to know that an old friendship can survive all kinds of challenges.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.