I covered the hall floor with old sheets, got the step stool and washed the stained bit of ceiling. I was surprised at the improvement. When dry I applied a coat of stain block and left it to work it’s magic* while I went shopping in Windermere (Lakeland for 1 item and Booths for 3). I came out of both shops with twice what I went in for.

Then a pleasant half hour in the sunshine at Bowness. I took too many photos.

Back home and the ceiling looked no different so I put more paint on. Then, lots more tidying in the outside store and a trip to the recycling site.

Another look at the ceiling and the water stain was still very obvious. I’m off to Screwfix tomorrow for a tin of something that works. While I’m a fan of Crown paints my advice is never buy their stain block.

* wishful thinking

More in the extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.