Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Away from the roll of the sea

To best enjoy this blip, please first click here and get some music playing softly in the background. You'll be listening to the world renowned Elektra Women's Choir of Vancouver BC, my chorus' sisters in song. (For iPad users, here is a non-flash page featuring Chor Leoni, a Vancouver BC men's choir founded by Diane Loomer who also arranged this piece.)

I've always been drawn to the water, the ocean in particular. I've lived in coastal states (New Jersey, New York, California, Washington) all my life, a living arrangement which has allowed me to keep the salt air, the sand, and the sound of the surf close at hand. My dream road trip would take me down a winding road hugging the coast, lush green trees to one side, brilliant blue sea with white foamy waves on the other, and my favorite travel companion at the wheel.

The theme of Allegra's upcoming performance this year is Water. We have a beautiful assortment of songs involving rivers, oceans, rain, and similar imagery. The songs will be interspersed with poetry. I have a feeling it will be one of our best performances. Away from the Roll of the Sea (you're listening to it right now, right?) has been a favorite of mine for a long time and I had the fortune of hearing Elektra perform the piece several months ago.

These boats parked in our marina reminded me of this song's beautiful words, and I was humming the tune as I snapped today's blip foto.

Small craft in a harbour that's still and serene . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.