Market towns

We had our regular Arts Society meeting this afternoon. Our venue is The Hub, a converted church in Lichfield City Centre,, which is proving a highly successful community resource.

I love our Staffordshire market towns. I was brought up in Uttoxeter and our market was second to none. I fondly remember the atmosphere on a Wednesday when the cattle market was in full flow. A real buzz. Real character. But times change and the cattle market moved from the town centre long ago.

I remember a very large cheese stall and as we were so close to the Potteries, I remember my mum being a regular enthusiast, visiting the stalls which had splendid seconds and a huge range of excellent bone china.

But times change.

I also enjoy a look around the Lichfield market when I walk through. Compared with the markets of my childhood, though, it seems so small………

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.