The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

A Tender Moment

Another impulse visit to a nature reserve. After a busy-ish morning I decided to pop down to Forest Farm for a few hours. Dan from the RSPB had seen a Pied Flycatcher there a few days ago, so I thought I would chance my luck.

It was pretty quiet down there. All the usual suspects were about, and I saw the Kingfishers twice. The Nuthatch was feeding around my feet, which was pretty cool. There was no Pied Flycatcher though. I had swotted up on it's call and the male is pretty distinctive to see; I had bird app on my phone as back up for helping to ID the female, but alas, it wasn't to be.

This photo was a brilliant capture of a moment. I watched this Robin calling from that fence post, and as I was photographing it, it's mate dropped in, and it fed her.

I did have one moment of excitement when I was walking back to the car. A bird of prey flew over being mobbed by Jackdaws. I was walking past a chap with a camera. I reached for my binoculars, he reached for his camera, between us we could positively identify it as a Goshawk. Quite a good end to the short visit.

I've edited some from the day and added them to the Forest Farm Flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.