This is the day

By wrencottage

Daisies standing in the rain

After the prolonged dry spell, we’re now experiencing intermittent rain showers, some of them quite heavy. I’m amazed at how well the garden has survived the drought, and I can hardly believe that our lawn – which resembled a dry coir mat only two or three weeks ago – is now lush and green once again (although unfortunately there are many more weeds in it than before.)

I was out in the garden this morning after breakfast, waging war on the Japanese anemone shoots that keep re-appearing after the plants were dug up earlier in the summer when they were threatening to take over the whole flower bed. As I dug in with my trowel, the clay soil was soft and crumbly, quite unlike its dry, cracked appearance in August. 

In July I bought a planter and two small erigeron plants to go in it. My watering and feeding paid dividends and the planter is now overflowing with daisy flowers, which give me enormous pleasure. 


Daisies standing in the rain,
Hold their heads together,
But they never once complain
Of the drenching weather.

Daisies know the sun will dry
All their dripping laces;
They're far too wise to frown and sigh
And spoil their dainty faces.

Annette Wynne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.