Henello

By Henello

Final Night

This is my final night in the student accommodation. It doesn't feel like it though!

The photo today was taken all the way back in July 2018, just a couple of months before I moved to Northern Ireland. Except for the summer of 2019, I have lived in the same room the past 4 years.

I had already secured my place in Ulster University before I visited the village for the first time. R and I thought it would be a good idea to look around the campus, the village and the surrounding area before I moved in later that year.

In my memory everything seemed much bigger. The University looked massive and the nearby park by the shore felt huge. Nowadays it all feels much smaller! I remember walking to a nearby Spar and it feeling like quite a long walk. Years later I'd walk there quite often to get milk and bread. Definitely doesn't feel like a long walk anymore!

Today was a nice relaxing day to enjoy our final night in this flat. Only now do I realise how long I've been living here. I think the pandemic distorted my sense of time so I never really thought about it.

There's definitely things I prefer about this flat but it's time for R and I to have our own space without any roommates around. We'll still visit the area often, which will probably feel very strange.

It's a new era for us, which has coincided with a new era for the Royal Family. Somehow it makes us starting a new chapter more impactful.

A new place and a new king!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.