IN THE MORNING I SAW

my yesterday's beetle still eating. In the afternoon she was gone.
Several other small creatures however I discover now more easily, I just stand quietly, look intensily and there is a whole menagerie eating or simply relaxing in the sun. Loads of forgotten, hidden under bushes, leaves, too wide expanding bushes, grasses with underground roots that creep further and further.
I am a lover of a wild (lazy) garden but it has gone too far and I am happy that we both agree upon this matter and undertake every day clearing some part.
Then I spotted this beetle eating from the fritillaria, it probably is a Pyrochroa coccinea, in latin, or the Black-headed cardinal beetle. Be my blip, could almost be a song now.

My haiku:

Fritillaria
Who would I be with that name
Dancing in the wind

And the proverb or sometimes more a saying in dutch I choose must not be too difficult to translate.

Wat hij/zij in het schild voert, is met geen blaasinstrument te bespelen.

What he/she is up to cannot be played with any wind instrument.

The translation of schild is of course shield and my little creature has a pretty red shield.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.