Nashville culture

I’m up early and walking into town. I head across the Jon Seigenthaler Pedestrian Bridge (extras), dedicated to American POWs, taking in the imposing view of downtown Nashville.

I’m already hot when I get to the Country Music Hall of Fame, but they soon let us in and the aircon works its wonders on me. There’s loads of things to see: cars, gold records, guitars, sequinned clothes. I guess I’m just not that interested. Another “I’m glad I came but wouldn’t recommend it it come back” experience.

Then I wander to the Chatham Ale and Masala House for lunch. I get a pint (of something that’s quite like Heavy) and a very tasty, mild vegetable curry called a Moilee. Huge portions, but I do my duty.

Another trek through Nashville to the Tennessee State Museum where they have an exhibition called Painting the Smokies. It’s great - loads of wonderful paintings, mainly landscapes. This one is by Rudolph F. Ingerle.

The museum is a very imposing building (extra) and, as well as the Smokies exhibition, there’s a permanent set of galleries exploring the history of the state through the centuries. I’m a bit knackered, but it is interesting.

Back home for a nap and pack before heading to the airport for my late flight to Boston. There’s an American lounge in Nashville, but I’m not allowed in because I’m not travelling with a OneWorld carrier. Instead I eat a passable fast food mezze and squat the free WiFi.

The flight is delayed. When I do get to Boston I get mixed up about where to meet my Lyft. Eventually I get to the hotel at about 2:30 in the morning. Just as well I have a full day of meeting tomorrow. I mean today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.