Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

David Jones is....David Bowie

Today I went to the 'David Bowie is...' exhibition at the V&A. This iconic performer, born David Jones in 1947 has held a certain fascination for me (and many others) since I was a young girl listening to my older sister's records.

I first went to an hour long talk about the exhibition - things I learned
1) it is an intellectual exhibition about the various influences on his music, fashion, persona (the whole Japan thing, various artists like Gainsborough, novels by J G Ballard) as well as a collection of his fashions and memorabilia
2) the exhibition took 3 years to curate
3) it has had the full support from David Bowie although he himself has not yet seen it
4) his name is pronounced 'boh-ee' and not bough-ee' as I have always done

The exhibition is superb, particularly if you are a Bowie fan! One is given a set of headphones that is automatically triggered by sensors when you stand in front of various exhibition points. As you move around the rooms, it picks up the next recording of interviews, commentaries and his music. His music plays throughout and I could barely stop myself from moving in time to his great songs - I noticed others doing the same and some also mouthing the words to his songs.

The final exhibit is in a large space with screens about 2 storeys high, which are showing various performances from his many concerts and music videos. One feels as if you are actually at one of his concerts and by now you cannot stand still well I couldn't)

There is also a room of some wonderful photos of him by various photographers.

Did you know he starred in a few movies and a theatre production (The elephant many)? There is also a room screening clips from these performances.

His outfits worn in concerts and videos were also on display - they are a work of art by the various designers he used - I loved his tight fitting suits by Buretti. I never realised he was so thin, and actually rather emaciated during his cocaine-fuelled years. There were many original lyrics on display - hand written in a rather immature hand with circles dotting his 'i's.

I realised that David Bowie, the androgynous creator of personas like Major Tom, Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane and the Thin White Duke, he of the perfectly sculpted cheekbones and skinny hips, he of the outlandish makeup and futuristic costumes, still has got what it takes, and my school girl crush has been totally revived. Sigh....

Do go see this - it is on until 11 August and has been the fastest selling exhibition ever. If you can't - put on one of his albums, sit back and enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.