Hydrangea 'Limelight'

Only problem is, you have to be laying underneath the heavy blooms to appreciate the colour ... perhaps it's camera shy. Sometimes I think  plants lose their strength & vigour for the sake of fancy breeding/colours. I much prefer a strong stemmed plant that does'nt need support, my mantra for my own garden selections, well, apart from sweetpeas. Slugs/snails/staking, no thank you, but this plant is'nt in my garden it's in Jan's where I'm dog/parrot/housesitting for the week. So far, so good, only one fatality, the back leg has come off one of Jorgie's squeaky rubber toys, a pig. Oh, and the stuffing's come out but it was'nt sage & onion, just some synthetic stuff that they stuff squeaky rubber pigs with.
Jorgie & I dodged the showers on our morning bimble, it's turned a tad fresh too, so I must pick up some jeans from home tomorrow on my way through to Mum. I was being a tad optimistic only packing shorts. I certainly would'nt make a postie. Lol!!
I prepared some windfall apples for my breakfast yogurt topping. I feel at a bit of a loose end over here, at home I'd be out in the garden or up the allotment, so sat down with a gardening magazine & coffee. Lots of pretty flowers, & well manicured gardens, but to be honest with you, my days of sitting, drooling, making plant wish lists are well over.
Egg sarnie for lunch, 3rd egg sarnie lunch in a row .. easy is'nt it. Dinners have consisted of homemade freezer dip beetroot falafel on griddled brioche buns with side salads of diced beetroot, white beans, onion, & chopped fresh coriander leaf. I've now exhausted the falafel & can't decide whether to start on the 2022 vintage frozen courgette & hazelnut patties for tonights dinner or make something really radical like ...... erm????? ...... like erm???? Maybe tomorrow.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Just noticed the  weather widget at the bottom of my screen is indicating 70deg F & Sunny .... Well it certainly ain't either of those here. While on the subbject of warm weather I browsed some old Telegraph newspaper travel sections that Jan has stashed for lining the parrot cages. Bill a neighbour passes them over to her. Travel, is something I never tire of, even if it's in the same county. There is always somewhere undiscovered just around the corner to explore ... In one article different celebrities had commented on how they came to love travelling. Joanna Lumley quoted a poem by Gerald Gould that began -
                               "Beyond the East the sunrise, beyond the West the sea
                              And East & West the wonderlust that will not let me be"

I like that!

I also like what Joanna Lumley said which was " I get more excited about a suitcase than a shoe shop". :-)  Now where did I put my passport.

Wishing you all a very happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.