A new era

I hardly remember a different monarch.  I do remember learning the words to "God save The Queen" and having neighbours round to watch the Coronation, but I was too young to take much notice.  I did have a push-out book of Buckingham Palace and a jar of Gloy to stick the pieces together but I'm not sure I ever finished it.

It was sad to learn of The Queen's death yesterday (I hate the word passed) and it is going to be strange getting used to having a king once more.  

I am just not sure the media are doing the royal family any favours by the huge amount of coverage, particularly yesterday, when all channels were covering it and going over the same things time and time again.

Even children's football matches have been cancelled this weekend, which seems a bit much.  It's all playing very much into the hands of the republicans.

It's history in the making and I appreciate that these momentous events have to be documented for future generations and historians, but then there's overkill.  

I did go down to London to queue for more than six hours to file past the Queen Mother's coffin and I have met the Queen on two separate occasions because our son was a Grenadier Guard and she was Colonel-in-Chief.  

Queen Elizabeth II was a remarkable and selfless woman, and we'll never see the like again.  I am pleased she just faded away and wasn't too far behind her husband.

On a lighter note, we have a small water leak up the road which I have reported to Anglian Water.  I have had a reply saying that they should be out in the next couple of weeks.  Sigh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.