Time for a wash

There have been some lovely moments over the past twenty-four hours.  The speech given by King Charles was moving and heartfelt, and the way he drew the Prime Minister towards him when they shook hands was a wonderful way of putting her at her ease.  I think they'll get on.

Today's televising of the Proclamation was fascinating to watch and I thought Penny Mordant carried off her role perfectly.  What a baptism of fire.  I love the statement "Our late Sovereign of happy memory".

Another thing that tickled me was the way the new king wanted the pens removed from the table so he had more room to sign the documents and then pocketed the pen, although I'm hoping I missed the fact that he may have taken it out of his pocket in the first place.  I was really afraid he was going to knock over the ink well, which of course he didn't.

A much more interesting morning of pageantry than the waffle of the past couple of days.  I am now wondering whether to go into town tomorrow morning for the reading of the Proclamation, as will happen up and down the country.

A bit of gardening this afternoon and I spied this tiny hoverfly sitting on the stalk of a Hesperanthus having a bit of a wash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.