Basin Bridge #98

I met A in Lancaster to entertain her during her 3 hour gap in hospital appointments. As she can't see very well , its not safe for her to wander round busy Lancaster. I was her tour guide for the afternoon. She bought me lunch,  We toured the canal, the shopping area and the castle. 

Years ago I walked the canal to Lancaster as part of my hip rehab project and got to Bridge 100.   I can't see that I've ventured  any further south so pleased today to find this beautiful Grade II historic horse cross over bridge built in 1790. Details from the internet below if you are interested. 


Designed by John Rennie of Lune Aqueduct fame, Bridge 98 is one of Lancaster’s two ‘roving’ or ‘turnover’ bridges, built to allow the towpath to cross from the west side of the canal to the east, avoiding the coal wharves next to the canal basins. Horses were backed over the bridge still hitched to their towing barges, their tow-ropes gliding smoothly over the metal staples which connect the coping stones on the parapet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.