Westmorland

I drive over Bowland Bridge about once or twice a week and had not realised I was crossing the old boundary between Westmorland and Lancashire as I drive over the River Winster. Walking over it today I spotted this old sign. 
Westmorland never went away, despite Westmorland County County Council which was formed in 1888 being abolished in 1972 to become part of Cumbria County Council. We still have the Westmorland General Hospital ( where I had my hip done) , the Westmorland Gazette local paper  and the Westmorland Motorway Services on the M6 to name but  a few.  AND very soon we are going to get  Westmorland Council back. In 2021 the Government announced that they were abolishing Cumbria County Council . We are getting Westmorland and  Cumberland back. But of course the boundaries will not be the same as the old ones. Its good for me to remember that Lancashire used to be just down the road. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.