The Golden Valley after late summer mist

When I first looked out of this, my study’s window, early this morning, mist completely covered the distant hilltop which is called Minchinhampton Common. A couple of hours and two cups of strong percolated coffee later, the mist had lifted and been replaced by scudding clouds. 

When I looked up from my computer and saw those clouds I thought I’d record the early autumn scene across the Golden Valley. The weather forecast was for deteriorating conditions with rain and strong wind, so best to catch the brighter light while I could.

After a little more work I looked up again and suddenly saw a raptor gliding over the ash tree at the bottom of the garden being buzzed by the resident corvids. By the time my camera was ready the buzzard (I think, though I’d hoped it was a sparrowhawk) had been pursued a little further away over the trees in the valley whose roots are fed by the Lime Brook.

Within a further thirty minutes the rain arrived. I’ve recorded these scenes in today’s ‘Extras’ , with the last picture a view literally from my desk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.