CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Charming – the goldfinches are gathering again

I watched the goldfinches feeding en masse on the adjacent sunflower feeder. I always enjoy their antics which appear quite aggressive at times, but maybe it is their way of conversing.

The bird bath has been really useful this year with the dry conditions and many birds are using it. I must remember to clean it (and the feeders) regularly to stop any infections spreading between the varied species.

I've mentioned recently that there have been more goldfinches around our garden as summer ends. In fact I counted more than twenty flying in a flock or charm before alighting on the top branches of the ash tree at the bottom of the garden. They stand for some minutes twittering their songs to each other and then get startled, fly off in a big circle and generally return quite quickly to the top branches. I love them being around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.