CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Cows grazing in the combe below Montseratt, Stroud

I like watching the cows which graze the fields on the far side of the Golden Valley. The hillside rises up from the valley bottom, away from the river, the canal, the London Road, the Great Western Railway line and across Bagpath Lane. The road has a small hamlet called Montserrat and the woods above it lead onto Rodborough Common, the National Trust's traditional limestone grassland which needs animals to graze it to keep the natural habitats true to their origins.

The big tree just above the railway track always attracts the cows, and my gaze from my desk. Today I thought I should record the beginning of the growth following the arid summer conditions. At last the grass is growing back and I'm sure the cows are appreciative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.