Ducks in a row

The first day of a new era. Perhaps at a time of loss and sadness there is a chance that the the country can move forward positively, with greater unity and common sense of purpose.

I liked all the little vignettes with Paddington that have been circulating, the poem that one or two blippers have reproduced and the photo of the retreating Duke saying “thank you, I’ll take care of her now”

The King’s inaugural speech I found uplifting; offering the hand of love to Prince Harry and Megan.

Tomorrow is the formal proclamation by the Accession Council:

Leader of the Council: “Your Royal Highness, we are delighted to offer you the post of King”

His Royal Highness; “Thank you very much, I’m deeply touched, but I’m going to have to turn it down, at 73 I was looking forward to retirement and an easier life. Perhaps you could promote someone a little younger?”

On a slightly different matter, am I the only one who thinks the new Prime Minister’s handle “Miss Truss” is an unfortunate choice. Say it quickly and see what you think.

We took our friends back to Gatwick after lunch. Two hours round trip on a Friday afternoon, pleasant and unexpected. We had time to go for a walk when we got back; caught in a heavy shower and saw these ducks , which rescued my blip.

Thank you all for your comments, hearts and stars for yesterday’s blip. It was taken about the time the Queen passed away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.